Healthy, Kid-Friendly Sweet Potato Muffins

 

sweetpotatomuffins2My kids won’t eat sweet potatoes, no matter how I prepare them. I’ve tried cream-cheese frosted sweet potato breads that taste like pumpkin bread, I’ve tried cheesecake-style sweet potato cakes with pecan-caramel crusts, but all to no avail. My kids won’t touch them, and this frustrated me because I live in the south, where sweet potatoes are a local staple that I can buy fresh from the farm (I’m supporting local farmers, and they’re very healthy, to boot!).

One day, I found a sugar-free sweet potato muffin recipe in this cookbook, but it called for white flour and freeze-dried sweet potatoes which the “Thrive” company no longer sells:

thrive cookbook cover

So I tweaked their recipe and tried making a healthier version with whole wheat flour.

The problem: resulting muffins had a gritty, sandy texture (from the fresh-ground flour) and the sweet potato was overpowering.

I did some more tweaking, and found that by soaking the flour before mixing it into the batter, resulting muffins were soft and sponge-y as if I had used white flour. The sugar-free-ness was still apparent (my kids rejected them yet again), so I tossed in some vanilla chips and decided to just cut my losses and make the things appealing, already. I mean, I just wanted them to eat at least one sweet potato in their lives!

So here’s the recipe that finally won the kids over–they ate every last muffin pictures in these shots:

sweetpotato muffins

~ Flour Soak:

1 and 1/2 cups fresh ground wheat four (use less if using store-bought, which is more dense due to settling)

1/2 cup apple juice

1/2 cup milk (I use almond or coconut milk)

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 cup honey

1 cup cooked, mashed sweet potato (skin removed before mashing)

Whisk together the liquid ingredients, above, then allow them to soak while you clean your kitchen, make dinner, and prepare the other ingredients (at least a half an hour should be your goal)

~ Then combine the following in a small bowl:

1/2 cup un-soaked whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon iodized salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Whisk together, then stir them into the Flour Soak until combined.

~ Stir in:

1 cup vanilla chips

~ To Bake:

Drop into cooking-sprayed muffins tins using an ice cream or cookie scoop (regular ice cream scoop for mini-muffins; large cookie scoop for regular-size muffins), then bake in a preheated 350-degre oven for 9-12 minutes (do the toothpick test to make sure they are done).

DSCN2251

One response

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog. I’ve been looking for some good whole wheat muffin recipes that are healthy and both kids and adults like. Can’t wait to try out some of your ideas.

Leave a Reply

