Sugar-Free Apple Spice Muffins

Did you know that cinnamon is a calming spice? If your kids could use a little calming (and a little less hyperactivity-inducing sugar) after the holidays, give my Sugar-Free Apple Spice Muffins a try! These are healthy enough to be a meal at breakfast, hearty enough to curb the appetite at snack time, and sweet enough to be a dessert!

Here’s the recipe:

1 and 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1 and 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup apple juice

2 cups diced apples (can substitute raisins or other diced fruits)

1/4 cup canola oil

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl; set aside. Combine wet ingredients in a smaller bowl, then add apples. Pour entire mixture into dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Bake in greased mini muffin tins for 7-10 minutes at 400 degrees (or in regular-sized tins for 15-20 minutes).

10 responses

  1. I used to make muffins like these for my son when he was little. Most bakers don’t realize what you can do with oats, spices and apples to make sweets more healthful and still delicious. We are so brain-washed to believe that it’s got to be all-butter, all-sugar all the time to be a wonderful treat. These look great. I love whole wheat flour too because it has a nutty substantial flavor. Great post!

  2. My kids joke that I make muffins every morning so I must be the muffin mom. Wait til I tell them that there already is one.

    Yum! I’m enjoying the ideas to adapt to GF. Thanks for taking the time to blog to the world.

  3. I love the recipe so far I’m going to try them out today but how many muffins does it make ??? Love it

  4. superhealthykids | Reply

    Perfect! We always have the ingredients for these muffins. I love to find recipes that I don’t have to go out and buy special things for, so thanks!

  5. Do you have the nutritional statistics on this recipe? Thanks. šŸ™‚

  6. Calorie count?

  7. Just made a batch. They’re really great. šŸ™‚

  8. How many muffins does this recipe yield? Any suggestions on what I can substitute for the honey and oil??? Maybe applesauce and agave?

    Thanks!

  9. I recently baked these muffins and they turned out pretty good but they have a slightly bitter aftertaste. I wonder if I did something wrong? I’m thinking the aftertaste is from the baking soda and/or baking powder? Does the recipe really need 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1 teaspoon baking soda??

Leave a Reply

