Chocolate Brownie Sludge

It isn’t fudge

And it isn’t brownie batter.

I call it “Brownie Sludge” because it is a cross between the two.

dscn1241I invented it one day in my kitchen because my kids always beg to taste my brownie batter. But I never want to feed them raw eggs, so I started giving them the brownie batter *before* adding the eggs.

 The consistency of brownie batter before eggs is thick, rich, and fudgy! Soon my husband and I were scooping this stuff out with our fingers, then moving on to very large spoons.

dscn1244

When I’m dieting, I make it from boxed brownie mix by omitting the eggs and the oil and just adding the water called for on the back of the box. This quasi-diet sludge is even thicker!

The next time you make brownies, give it a try, and I guarantee your batter won’t make it into the oven, either! 🙂

One response

  1. LaDonna – I followed your link on my blog (thanks for the correction!) and found THIS!!!!!!!!!! Bliss. I have kids home on spring break and a box of brownie mix in the cupboard. I suspect it will be a sugar fueled afternoon!

    You’ve also inspired me to pull out my vitamixer and try to grind my own wheat. Looking forward to tasking the difference.

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

