Loaded Baked Potato Muffins

I sure wish I could get my camera to do justice to these heavenly, delicious, meal-on-the-go muffins, but they look all bumpy because I use home-mashed potatoes (I live in Idaho–using instant potatoes is a felony here!). Those of you who do use instant potatoes will find that your muffins have a much smoother shape and texture–not the rocky surfaces seen here: 

tatermuff

I invented this super-scrumptious muffin so that I could have some sort of grab-n-go lunches in my freezer for days when I was going to be running errands or working, and didn’t want to rely on fast food for me or my kids.tatermuff01 I always bake these as a mini muffin to help save on calories per serving, because they do have cheese and bacon in them, but I leave the skins on my potatoes and use wheat flour, so they are still healthier than any restaurant version.

tatermuff2 

Oh yeah–they taste better, too!  Here’s the recipe:

Loaded Baked Potato Muffins

2 egg yolks

3 cups mashed potatoes (or 3 cups grated raw potatoes, squeezed dry in a dish towel)

1/4 cup grated oniontatermuff3

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tablespoons canola oil

2 stiffly beaten egg whites

1 cup crumbled cooked bacon

3/4 cup shredded cheese

1/2 cup sliced chives (optional)

Stir the egg yolks into the potatoes and onion. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. Add to potato mixture, then fold in the oil and beaten egg whites. Stir in bacon bits and cheese (along with chives, if using them). Spray mini-muffin tins with canola cooking spray, then drop muffins into tins using a regular-sized ice cream scoop. Batter must fill cups because muffins won’t rise much. Bake at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes, until edged are dark brown and crisp, insides resemble dry mashed potatoes. Garnish tops with extra shredded cheese and bake another couple of minutes.

Refrigerate in air-tight container within 2 hours of baking.

tatermuff4

8 responses

  1. These look absolutely yummy! I want to smear one with sour cream and eat it right now!

  2. Love your blog! Saw you at the ice cream diary. Can’t wait to try some of your recipes!!

  3. I made these for dinner tonight–served them with scrambled eggs and fresh fruit. They were a huge hit! My two year old scarfed them down. I baked them in regular sized muffin tins because I don’t have small ones. They need a few more minutes baking if using large tins. If you are doing Weight Watchers each large muffin is about 5 (well worth it) points.

  4. sustainableeats | Reply

    OMG I just want to roll in those! I can smell the bacon and cheddar already. Definitely printing this one out and cooking some potatoes for dinner tomorrow night so I have leftovers and then oops – guess I have to make muffins with them!

  5. sustainableeats | Reply

    Do you use red spring wheat or soft wheat? I usually use a soft wheat in muffins but I’m not sure if that would be sturdy enough to stand up to the potato?

  6. I’ve got to try these! Yummmm!

  7. I’ve never seen a theme like this, is it custom?

  8. My boyfriend (and personal taste-tester) just found this recipe and requested that I make it – thanks for a yummy looking dish that we can’t wait to make for a breakfast soon (with some scrambled eggs, sounders perfect)

Leave a Reply

