How to Bake When the Power Goes Out

I’ve already mentioned that I like to grind my own wheat

hand-grinderBut inaddition to my Nutrimill Electric grinder, I also bought a hand-powered grinder to grind my daily wheat when the power goes out (I live in the arctic–it happens every winter at least once!). But  I often wonder: once I grind my wheat, how will I bake bread without power?? Sure, I could make tortillas on my grill, but I want BREAD, too!

Today I learned how! I can bake Italian Torta al Testo bread on my barbecue grill, or even in the fireplace! For the recipe, click here!

4 responses

  1. Hi Donna Muffin Mobile! Thank you so much for introducing the humble Umbrian torta al testo to the arctic! I can assure you that your children will love it, it’s such a simple and basic taste. Let me know how it works out when you try it.

  2. This is something that I have been thinking of doing myself. I really would like to go organic and grind all my own flour. Do you find any difference between baking with fresh ground flour and store bought? Do you need to alter the recipes when using fresh? Please let me know!

  3. sustainableeats | Reply

    I’ve thought about that too – I have the manual option on my grain mill but what the heck do you do it without power? Thanks for posting that! I finally had the time to get to your site briefly looking for that muffin recipe – can’t wait for my corn to come so I can make your tamale pie muffins! 🙂

  4. I’m a very long time watcher and I just assumed I’d drop by and say hello for the very first time. I truly enjoy your posts. Cheers

Leave a Reply

