Kid-Favorite Breakfast Muffins (Vegan)

dscn1152Have you ever tasted the Aussie Bites at Sam’s club?  I LOVE them, but they are way too fattening for me to want to dscn11511bake them, so I took their recipe, changed a few things, and voila: a new, healthy, breakfast-friendly muffin that my children LOVE:

Breakfast Bites

2 cups oats

2 cups whole wheat flour

2/3 cup brown sugar (or sucanat)

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup dried fruit (craisins, raisins, dates, etc) OR 3/4 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips (my kids hated the fruit version)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup canola oil

3/4 cups ground flaxseed (optional)

3/4 cup applesauce

1tsp baking soda

2 tablespoons hot water

dscn1146Mix dry ingredients.  Mix baking soda with hot water, then add to honey and oil; pour into dry ingredients and mix well.  If necessary, add extra water until dough reaches the right consistency (should not be dry and crumbly)

Place tablespoons of batter into mini-muffin pans (NOT full-sized muffin tins or they fall dscn1147apart!) and flatten tops with the back of the spoon.  Bake at 350 degrees for ten minutes or until golden

2 responses

  1. I love google! I just saw the Aussie Breakfast Bites at Costco and thought ‘we can make those.’ and then I found your recipe. Going to try this today! Thanks for posting it!

  2. I have information that you should check out for your self, I have done some investigation on Canola oil, I found out it is a poison! Please do your self a favor and do some research of your own.

Leave a Reply

